IMPULS.CC - zur Startseite

February 13th, 2019



Elisabethstraße 14, 8010 Graz

Salon I

music . talk . exchange

... all around oboe ...


An informal format, where tutors and Academy participants present their current work for about an hour and open up to a conversation with the interested audiences ...


Luciano Berio Sequenza VII, 1969

Claire Colombo oboe


Isang Yun Piri for Oboe solo, 1971

Matthias Azesberger oboe


free admission





February 13th, 2019




Lichtenfelsgasse 14

8010 Graz

Into the Blue


IEMA-Ensemble 2018/19 | Musashi Baba conductor


Justine Ehrensperger flute

Melanie Rothman oboe

Sergi Bayarri Sancho clarinet

Ronan Whittern bassoon

Ona Ramos Tintó horn

Emmanuelle Fleurot piano

Martin Pérénom piano

Vera Seedorf percussion

Mishi Stern violin

Robin Kirklar viola

Nathan Watts cello

Dominique Chabot double bass

Elnaz Seyedi cards


Witold Lutosławski Slides, 1988

Rebecca Saunders Into the Blue, 1996

George Benjamin Octet, 1978

Bernhard Gander schlechtecharakterstücke, 2009

Francesco Filidei I funerali dell' anarchico Serantini - versione per sei esecutori, 2005-06

John Zorn Cobra, 1984


Evening program


As part of the International Ensemble Modern Academy, Ensemble Modern offers various education modules, including the one-year Master’s degree course in cooperation with the Frankfurt am Main University of Music and Performing Arts. Instrumentalists, conductors, sound directors and composers who have already attained a degree work with Ensemble Modern on contemporary repertoire for one year. The results of their work are presented by the current IEMA-Ensemble in Germany and abroad. During the impuls Festival, the IEMA-Ensemble 2018/19 presents a stylistically broad programme of compositions created during the past 40 years. Despite their great diversity, the common thread running through all these works is that they are extreme, each in its own way: Witold Lutosławski’s "Slides – for 11 Soloists", which was composed in 1988 as a present for Elliott Carter’s 80th birthday, lasts only four minutes, but displays all the masterful characteristics of the late Lutosławski: a clear dramaturgy, outstanding instrumentation skills and a thought-out harmonic language. In her 1996 sextet "Into the Blue", which Rebecca Saunders dedicated to the memory of film director Derek Jarman (1942-1994), the composer uses a broad palette of instrumental sonorities, lending the piece an incredible intensity despite its highly reduced tonal material. George Benjamin’s "Octet" was written in 1978, shortly after Benjamin completed his studies with Messiaen in Paris. The piece has the general character of a scherzando, occasionally pierced by lyrical moments or screeching dynamics. In contrast, ›schlechtecharakterstücke‹ (badcharacterpieces) by Bernhard Gander, written in 2009, constitutes an extreme challenge to the listener with its constant extroversion. "I funerali dell’anarchico Serantini" by Francesco Filidei pays homage to Franco Serantini, who was beaten by police during a rally in 1972 and consequently died. According to Filidei, the only thing to be heard is the rustling of pages, waiting for them to come alive. The IEMA-Ensemble 2018/19 finishes its concert with improvisation and individualism, performing John Zorn’s anarchic composition "Cobra" (1984), in which individual musicians can influence the sequence of the composition by using prearranged gestures. (Elnaz Seyedi)


admission: € 13.- / € 9.- (reduced)

€ 5.- (music students with identity-card at the box-office)

Co-funded by the Creative Europe Programme of the European Union





February 13th, 2019


Forum Stadtpark

Stadtpark 1

8010 Graz

Late Night


Bernhard Gander DJ


pay as you wish