IMPULS.CC - zur Startseite

February 10th, 2019


Helmut List Halle

Waagner-Biro-Straße 98a

8020 Graz

Chromatic Aberrations - impuls Opening Concert


Ensemble Schallfeld | Lars Mlekusch conductor

Alessandro Baticci flute
Szilárd Benes clarinet

Teresa Doblinger clarinet
Edurne Santos Arrastua bassoon
Diego García Pliego saxophone
David Schmidt trumpet
Felix Del Tredici trombone
Hiu Yan Choi horn
Ruben Mattia Santorsa electric guitar
Manuel Alcaraz Clemente percussion
Mathias Lachenmayr percussion
Patrick Skrilecz piano
Lorenzo Derinni  violin
Jacobo Hernández Enríquez violin
Paolo Fumagalli viola
Myriam García Fildalgo cello
Margarethe Maierhofer-Lischka double bass


Jorge Sánchez-Chiong (JSX), turntables, electronics

Davide Gagliardi sound, electronics


Alberto Posadas Tres pinturas imaginarias, 2014

Agata Zubel The Streets of a Human City, 2011

Simon Steen-Andersen Chambered Music, 2007

Jorge Sánchez-Chiong Scans of Lucid, 2019, world premiere

Fausto Romitelli Professor Bad Trip: Lesson 1, 1998



Evening program


For the opening of impuls, Ensemble Schallfeld presents a colourful snapshot of contemporary composing, celebrating interconnections between painting, visual art and music. „Chromatic aberrations” are subtle coloured flares and blurs that appear in a photograph if the lens does not focus the light precisely in one point. When we listen to music, the images appearing in our minds are also often blurry, mysterious, fluid. For this program, Schallfeld chose five composers that work with inspirations from painting and visual art. Simon Steen-Andersen is known for his precise composing in the audiovisual field. In Chambered Music, both the sonic, performative and visual potentials of a „chamber” are explored. In three imaginary paintings (Tres pinturas imaginarias), Spanish composer Alberto Posadas tries to achieve a style transfer, transforming painterly techniques taken from Renaissance and modern painting into sonic forms. More reality-bound and with a witty sense of humour appears Agata Zubel’s The Streets of a Human City that got praised at its premiere to be a contemporary „symphonic poem” portraying an urban landscape. Vienna-based composer-DJ-turntablist Jorge Sánchez-Chiong presents a new work called Scans of Lucid, using the full colour palette of his diverse musical styles ranging from free improvisation to electronic techno. The closure of the evening marks the iconic Professor Bad Trip: Lesson 1 by Fausto Romitelli. Romitelli’s music is not only a psychedelic trip across endlessly warping electronic sounds and loops, but is also deeply inspired by the composer’s study of fine art. (Margarethe Maierhofer-Lischka)


admission: € 16.- / € 11.- (reduced)

€ 6.- (music students with identity-card at the box-office)

Thanks to AVL Cultural Foundation for the kind support

Co-funded by the Creative Europe Programme of the European Union